19th Triennial Conference of the International Federation of Operational Research Societies

Call for Papers

19th Triennial Conference of
the International Federation of Operational Research Societies

10th  15th July, 2011
Melbourne, Australia

World OR: Global Economy and Sustainable Environment

Recent natural catastrophes and man-made crises have underscored the inter-connectedness of our world. Any upheaval leads to momentous reverberations across the globe with impacts well into the future.
Now more than ever, Operational Research is of strategic importance to address problems critical to the economy and the environment. Academics and practitioners are invited to share their knowledge, experience and insights on theory, methodology and application of operational research to issues of vital concern to the global community.

The Opening Plenary talk “Optimal Choice Sets: How tightly should we regulate?” will be given by Sir James Mirrlees, Trinity College, Cambridge, Nobel laureate in Economics 1996.

Abstract Submission now open:

Papers on all aspects of Operational Research are invited. Authors wishing to present are requested to submit an abstract of not more than 100 words via the Abstract Submission system at:

Abstract Submission deadline: 28 February, 2011

The scientific program includes over 50 invited streams covering all aspects of Operations Research, see the Program section of the conference webpage:  http://www.ifors2011.org.

For program enquiries, please contact the Programme Committee Chair:
Prof. Janny M.Y. Leung
Department of Systems Engineering and Engineering Management
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Shatin, New Territories, Hong Kong
Phone: +(852) 2609-8238
E-mail: jleung@se.cuhk.edu.hk

IFORS Prize for OR in Development:

Submissions are invited of papers describing a practical OR application in a developing country, related to education, health, water, technology, resource use, infrastructure, agriculture, environmental concerns, etc. Enquiries should be sent to the Prize Committee Chair:
Dr. Subhash Datta, Director
NIILM Centre for Management Studies
Plot No. 53, Knowledge Park V, Greater Noida, UP. India
E-mail: subhash.datta@gmail.com

Deadline for full paper submission: 30th December, 2010

Conference Organising Committee:

For general enquiries, please contact the Conference Organising Committee:
Chair:     Dr Patrick Tobin
School of Arts and Sciences (Vic)
Australian Catholic University
Melbourne Campus (St Patrick’s)
Phone: +61 3 9953 3199
Fax: +61 3 9495 6141

Secretary: Ms. Kaye Marion
Senior lecturer in Operations Research and Statistics
School of Mathematical and Geospatial Sciences
RMIT University
Phone: +61 3 9925 3162

Treasurer: Assoc Prof Paul Lochert
Phone: +61 3 9802 4628

Organising Committee:
Prof Baikunth Nath
Computer Science and Software Engineering
University of Melbourne
Phone: +61 3 8344 1400

Prof John Hearne
Head, School of Mathematical and Geospatial Sciences
RMIT University
Phone: +61 3 9925 2283

Prof Natashia Boland
School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences
University of Newcastle
Phone: +61 2 4921 6717
Fax: +61 2 4921 6898

Invited Streams and Organizers:

Airline Applications Matthias Ehrgott m.ehrgott@auckland.ac.nz
Analytic Hierarchy Process Josef Jablonsky Jablon@vse.cz
Applied Probability Peter Taylor P.Taylor@ms.unimelb.edu.au
Approximation Algorithms Hans Kellerer hans.kellerer@uni-graz.at
Bioinformatics Ceyda Oguz coguz@ku.edu.tr
Combinatorial Optimization Silvano Martello silvano.martello@unibo.it
Constraint Programming (CP-AI) Jimmy Lee 

Mark Wallace

Natashia Bolland




Continuous Optimization Gerhard Wilhelm Weber gweber@metu.edu.tr
Cutting and Packing David Pisinger 

Jose Oliveira



Data Envelopement Analysis Ali Emrouznejad a.emrouznejad@aston.ac.uk
Discrete Optimization Gerhard Reinelt 

Michael Juenger



Economics of Operations Chung-Piaw Teo bizteocp@nus.edu.sg
Education Jim Cochran jcochran@cab.latech.edu
Emergency Evacuation and Response Elise Miller-Hooks elisemh@umd.edu
Forestry Applications Andres Weintraub aweintra@dii.uchile.cl
Fuzzy Logic Janos Fodor fodor@bmf.hu
Health Care Applications Leonid Churilov lchurilov@nsri.org.au
Integer Programming Sungsoo Park sspark@kaist.ac.kr
Knowledge Management and Data Mining Jo Smedley Jo.Smedley@newport.ac.uk
Learning and Intelligent Optimization Kate Smith-Miles kate.smith-miles@sci.monash.edu.au
Marine Transportation and Ports Harilaos Psaraftis hnpsar@central.ntua.gr
Marketing and OM Interface Kathryn Stecke Kstecke@utdallas.edu
Meta-heuristics Celso Riberio 

Stefan Voss



Military, Defense and Security Applications Greg Parlier gparlier@ida.org
Mining Applications Alexandra Newman 

Lou Caccetta



Multicriteria Decision Analysis and Decision Support Theo Stewart 

Jyrki Wallenius

Roman Slowinski




Network Optimization Luis Gouveia legouveia@fc.ul.pt
Non-linear discrete optimization Duan Li 

Xiaoling Sun



Non-linear optimization Ya-xiang Yuan yyx@lsec.cc.ac.cn
Non-smooth optimization Andrew Eberhard 

Jon Borwein

Regina Burachik




Operations Management Candi Yano yano@ieor.berkeley.edu
OR and Energy Markets Andy Philpott a.philpott@auckland.ac.nz
OR and Marketing Christopher Tang chris.tang@anderson.ucla.edu
OR and Real Implementation Ben Lev blev@umich.edu
OR and Sports Tristan Barnett strategicgames@hotmail.com
OR and Sustainable Development Subhash Datta 

Devanath Tirupati



OR Applications in Energy Ilhan Or or@boun.edu.tr
OR Practice John Ranyard jranyard@cix.co.uk
OR software Bjarni Kristiansson bjarni@maximalsoftware.com
Production Chung-Yee Lee cylee@ust.hk
Public Transit Dennis Huisman huisman@few.eur.nl
Revenue Management Luce Brotcorne luce.brotcorne@inria.fr
Scheduling Wieslaw Kubiak wkubiak@mun.ca
Service and Health Care Operations Chon Goh 

Kumar Rajaram



Software Engineering Baikunth Nath baikunth@unimelb.edu.au
Stochastic Optimization and Applications Laureano Escudero laureano.escudero@urjc.es
Stochastic programming Abdel Lisser 

Ruediger Schultz



Submodular Structures and Optimization Satoru Fujishige fujishig@kurims.kyoto-u.ac.jp
Supply Chain Management Nesim Erkip 

Tava Lennon Olsen



Supply Chain Management in China Jian Chen chenj@em.tsinghua.edu.cn
Telecommunications Bernard Fortz bernard.fortz@ulb.ac.be
Time-Definite Logistics Richard Wong rtwong@ups.com
Transportation Michel Gendreau 

Maria Grazia Speranza



Travel Behaviour Michel Bierlaire michel.bierlaire@epfl.ch
Vehicle Routing Richard Eglese 

Arne Lokketangen



Website: http://www.ifors2011.org

With the exception of IFORS-sponsored events, any announcement for conferences, workshops, fora, and journals are provided as a service to members. IFORS has not validated these events nor is part of their organization.